Rules Guy: A gust of wind blew my ball off the green. Can I replace it?
- Share on Facebook
- Share on Twitter
- Share by Email

What do the rules say about replacing a ball that gets blown off the green by wind?
Getty Images
InsideGOLF: Over $140 in value
Just $39.99What do the rules say about replacing a ball that gets blown off the green by wind?
Getty Images
The Rules of Golf are tricky! Thankfully, we’ve got the guru. Our Rules Guy knows the book front to back. Got a question? He’s got all the answers.
I recently witnessed something unfair at a pro tournament. A player’s approach shot landed and stopped on the middle of the green. His playing partner needed a ruling before playing his approach, which took several minutes. During this delay, a huge gust of wind blew across the green, sending the ball off the putting surface. Under these unusual circumstances, can the ball really not be replaced where it was? —Mike Keller, via email
Verily it cannot, Mike, though it may seem unfair. If the ball had not already been lifted and replaced, then the player needed to play the ball as it lies.
It’s no different than had the same thing happened after a 250-yard approach and the ball started to roll away while the players were walking toward the green — the ball was moved by natural forces, so Rule 9.3 says to play it as it lies from where it rolled to.
We will also note that the first player could have walked ahead and marked his ball while his partner was getting the ruling, which would have spared him a situation that does indeed blow.
For more wind-related guidance from our guru, read on …
Rules Guy, Masters edition: Revisiting Padraig Harrington’s costly wind gustBy: Rules Guy
Retired guys with season passes will play in just about any conditions. Recently, we were braving a round in a very stiff wind. My tee shot on a par 3 landed a bit short and, just as I chipped, the wind blew the flagstick from the hole. My ball hit the prone flagstick and followed along the stick into the hole. The flag was properly positioned when I played my shot, so I doubt I’m penalized. But do I replay my shot, or is it a birdie with an assist from Mother Nature? —Greg Hayward, via email
While Rules Guy is not quite as besotted by Caddyshack as some people, the incident you describe would have worked well in the bishop’s “best round of my life” montage. Does it end on a happier note? Yes.
There’s nothing in the rules as far as Rules Guy sees that penalizes you or that would require the stroke to be replayed. You didn’t remove the flagstick while the ball was in motion, and the ball hitting the flagstick was an accident. Under Rule 13.2, accidental deflections result in the ball being played as it lies without penalty. Pick your ball from the cup … and, please, don’t get struck by lightning.
Need help unriddling the greens at your home course? Pick up a custom Green Book from Golf Logix.
Got a question about the Rules? Ask the Rules Guy! Send your queries, confusions and comments to [email protected]. We promise he won’t throw the book at you.
Golf.com